19 mins
CPC Calculator
Drive your ad revenue higher. Join Adpushup and grow your revenue by upto 40%
How to Calculate Cost Per Click?
Here’s how the CPC calculation looks like:
CPC=Total Cost / Number of Clicks
For instance, if your campaign incurs a cost of $200 and generates 500 clicks, the calculation would be:
CPC = $200 / 500 clicks
Refer to the image on the left to see this calculation in action.
In the same way, input your values into our calculator, and your CPC will be calculated.
What is a Good Cost Per Click?
There isn’t a one-size-fits-all answer. CPC rates can differ widely depending on various factors. These include the advertising platform, the nature of the ad, the target demographic, the product or service being promoted, and the bidding strategy.
Here’s an example:
For a retail business, a good cost-per-click (CPC) could range from $1.00 to $2.00. Let’s say a store spends $1.50 per click, with a 10% conversion rate and an average sale of $50. That would usually be considered a favourable CPC.
What is Average CPC?
CPC rates fluctuate across industries and depend on advertisers’ objectives. However, in 2024, the average CPC rate for Amazon Ads stood at $1.20 per click, particularly for mobile advertising platforms.
Speaking of social media platforms, according to WebFX, here’s where the average CPC stands at –
Try our other related tools
Want to understand how we can increase your eCPM numbers?
Trusted by esteemed partners
Some Frequently asked questions
In Excel, you can calculate CPC using a simple cost per click formula. Let’s say you have the total cost of your advertising campaign in cell A1 and the number of clicks in cell B1. You can use the formula:
=CPC = A1 / B1
This will give you the cost per click. You can also use our cost per click calculator above to quickly check CPC.
=CPC = A1 / B1
This will give you the cost per click. You can also use our cost per click calculator above to quickly check CPC.
To calculate your target CPC, you first need to decide on your budget.
After finalizing budget, estimate how many clicks are required to achieve the desired outcome, like total purchases, sign ups, etc.
Next, divide your budget by this estimated number of clicks to find your target CPC.
For example, if your budget is $500 and you estimate needing 100 clicks for a conversion, your target CPC would be $5. Adjust this based on factors like your profit margins and market competitiveness. Keep an eye on your campaign’s performance and be ready to tweak your target CPC as needed.
After finalizing budget, estimate how many clicks are required to achieve the desired outcome, like total purchases, sign ups, etc.
Next, divide your budget by this estimated number of clicks to find your target CPC.
For example, if your budget is $500 and you estimate needing 100 clicks for a conversion, your target CPC would be $5. Adjust this based on factors like your profit margins and market competitiveness. Keep an eye on your campaign’s performance and be ready to tweak your target CPC as needed.
CPC can vary due to numerous factors like the keywords you choose, ad quality, competitor bids, and industry competition. Even factors like ad placement and timing play a role. It’s a dynamic mix of elements that influence how much you spend per click.